Boston Set to Host Record Howe Cup

The 2014 Howe Cup winners: National Capital Squash’s Four Corners.

The 2014 Howe Cup winners: National Capital Squash’s Four Corners.

Howe Cup Draws
A record fifty teams and two hundred and fifty women descend on Boston this weekend to contest the eighty-second U.S. Women’s Howe Cup Team Championships at Harvard University’s Murr Squash Center.

2014 A division champions National Capital Squash from Washington D.C. make the trek north to defend their title. Boston has the largest representation having mustered seventy women to represent the hosts in the A, B, C, and D divisions.

The Howe Cup brings women of all ages and skill levels from across the country together for a fun, inclusive weekend of squash.

The Howe Cup, the United States’ largest squash event for women, has a long history. The annual women’s five-person team tournament first began in 1928 as an inter-city competition between New York, Philadelphia, and Boston. This year, sees strong representation from all corners of the U.S., including first-time participants from Chicago, NUSEA teams drawing from multiple programs, and StreetSquash and SquashBusters teams.

The tournament has escalated since its inception, adding divisions throughout the years, to the four totaled today. The B division competition began in 1958 and the ‘B’ Howe Cup trophy was donated in 1959 by Mrs. Henry Flynt and Mrs. Mary W. Knapp. Ten years later, in 1968, the C Division was added, and in 1969 the ‘C’ Howe Cup trophy was donated by Mr. James Travis. The newest addition to the tournament, the D division and ‘D’ Howe Cup trophy, were formally sanctioned in 2008.

The revered Saturday night party will take place at the Boston Aquarium. The Feron’s Wedgwood Sportsmanship Trophy and Women’s Achievement Bowl will be presented to surprise winners during the Saturday dinner.

Follow live scores throughout the weekend using the Club Locker Player Tracker on


Like this Article? Share it!

Leave A Response