Harvard holds off Trinity to win Howe Cup

Harvard University successfully defended the Howe Cup to win their fourteenth national team championship this weekend after a compelling 5-4 final win against Trinity College at the 2013 CSA Women’s Team Championships.

Trinity had ended Princeton University’s undefeated season with a shock 6-3 win in the semifinals setting up a final match up against the defending champions.

Harvard articleHarvard led 4-2 going into the final round of matches between 1, 4, and 7 seeds.  Trinity nearly completed the upset winning the 4 and 7 matches if it were not for Amanda Sobhy of Harvard defeating Trinity’s Kanzy El Defrawy in three games to seal the Crimson’s title repeat.

Dartmouth College easily commanded the B division losing only one match the entire tournament against Bates College in the final to win the Kurtz Cup.

Bowdoin College provided the surprise of the tournament in the C division with a 5-4 semifinal win over #2 Hamilton, and a 5-4 win in the finals over #1 Wesleyan University to win the Walker Cup.

William Smith College won the Epps Cup in the D division with a 6-3 win over the University of Virginia, who knocked out #1 Boston College in the semi-finals.

In the round-robin structured E and Emerging divisions, Haverford College and Vanderbilt University won the honors respectively.

Wellesley articleThis season’s final and premier collegiate team tournament included forty women’s college teams from around the country including almost 400 players competed in six divisions.

The 2013 CSA Men’s Team Championships will take place this weekend at Yale University from February 22-24.

US Squash is proud to partner with the College Squash Association to put on a great showcase of these exceptional student athletes.  For complete results visit the tournament page on and

Like this Article? Share it!

Leave A Response